Community resources to help navigate through times of COVID19.

Our community is pulling together resources to assist individuals and businesses in preparing for COVID19. 

See the Resources in Español: Click Here 

 

We need your help. Let us know our current community needs in dealing with COVID-19

Take Survey Here

Physical Wellness

The City of Kearney has created a direct email address for all inquiries related to COVID-19, Email: [email protected]and a website for city updates: Click Here for Website

 

State Resources

State Hotline for COVID-19 Information: (402) 552-6645
8AM – 8PM CST – 7 Days a Week

Statewide COVID-19 Resources: Ne Children and Families Foundation

 

Health Care Resources

  • CHI Coronavirus online resource/hotline:
  • Wellcare Nebraska (managed care contractor for Medicaid), community and medical resource for their clients. Contact for information on rewards or benefits

 

Mental Wellness

We know that recent events has created an unease about the future. Click the following link to find local resources: Click here

Education 

Free Education Websites for Kids Pre K – 6 grade

PBS Kids https://pbskids.org/
Make Me Genius https://www.makemegenius.com/
Starfall https://teach.starfall.com/lv/
The Magic School Bus https://kids.scholastic.com/kids/books/the-magic-school-bus/
Cool Math https://www.coolmath.com/   
Highlights Kids https://www.highlightskids.com/
ABCya https://www.abcya.com/
National Geographic Kids https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/
The Kidz Page http://www.thekidzpage.com/
Fun Brain https://www.funbrain.com/
NGAkids Art Zone https://www.nga.gov/education/kids.html
BBC History for Kids http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/forkids/
Storyline Online https://www.storylineonline.net/
Youngzine https://www.youngzine.org/
Fuel the Brain https://www.fuelthebrain.com/
Mr. Nussbaum https://mrnussbaum.com/tipster-online-game
The Old Farmer’s Almanac for Kids https://www.almanac.com/kids
Exploratorium https://www.exploratorium.edu/explore
Turtle Diary https://www.turtlediary.com/
e-Learning for Kids https://www.e-learningforkids.org/
Sesame Street https://www.sesamestreet.org/
Fun Fonix https://www.funfonix.com/
Seussville https://www.seussville.com/?home#/home/
TvoKids https://www.tvokids.com/school-age
NASA Kid’s Club https://www.nasa.gov/kidsclub/index.html
Crypto Club https://www.cryptoclub.org/
Earthquakes for Kids https://earthquake.usgs.gov/learn/kids/
Smithsonian Learning Lab https://learninglab.si.edu/
Study Jams http://studyjams.scholastic.com/studyjams/
Grid Club https://gridclub.com/
Steve Spangler Science https://www.stevespanglerscience.com/lab/experiments/?
Mission US https://www.mission-us.org/
The Happy Scientist https://thehappyscientist.com/
Khan Academy https://www.khanacademy.org/
Magic Tree House https://www.magictreehouse.com/
DOGO News https://www.dogonews.com/
Science Bob https://sciencebob.com/
Grammaropolis https://www.grammaropolis.com/index.php
Cells Alive https://www.cellsalive.com/
Kids Reads https://www.kidsreads.com/
Google Earth https://www.google.com/earth/

Volunteer

Thank you for wanting to volunteer in the community. We are asking people to register with their church volunteer coordinator to volunteer for the elderly. Check to see if they are participating in the zoom volunteer coordinator calls, every Monday at 10am. If they are not, and you would like additional information, contact Denise, [email protected]

 
New Life Church Door Delivery 
Mon-Thurs 8:30 – 12:30pm
People can call the church office or complete the form at
Call: 308-234-1881 for more information on this volunteer opportunity. 

Financial Supports

 

Short Term Unemployment Fact Sheets

     Worker Fact Sheet 12-18-19 STC

     Employer Fact Sheet STC (1) (1)

Food. Transportation. Housing

Community Action Partnership of Mid Nebraska has created a list of local organizations, what they are providing, and who to contact. Visit their site for the full list: http://communityactionmidne.com/agency-and-community-updates-covid-19-pandemic-2020/

Local Food Pantry List 

Please contact for most up-to-date information.

Local Pantries Address Phone Number Contact Person

Kearney Jubilee Center

Monday: 1pm – 5pm
Tuesday: 9 am – 1pm
Wednesday: 1pm – 5pm
Thursday: CLOSED
Friday: 1pm – 5pm
Saturday: 10am – 2pm

No Thursday & Monday community meals through April 9. 

2523 Ave A 308-234-3880 Jacqueline Segura

Helping Hands

2-4pm every 3rd Sunday of the month

(Call first)

1724 1st Ave 308-627-4859 Mary Lyons

East Lawn Ministries

Tues & Thurs: 4pm – 6pm

 

First United Methodist

Gas Vouchers Only

East Lawn Trailer Court

2800 Grand Ave #342

 

4500 Linden Drive

308-224-3771

 

 

 

308-237-3158

Rod Murrish at 308-440-8263

The Salvation Army

Mon-Sat 10-6

1719 Central Ave 308-234-9998 Lisa

Storehouse

By appointment only

 

4010 7th Ave

North Door (#12)

 

308-455-3302 Justine Tschetter

Faith United Methodist Church

Will be open upon request

1623 Central Ave 308-237-2550  

Little Free Pantries

Accessible 24 hrs/day

Faith United Methodist Church

1623 Central Avenue

110 W. 24th St. Behind 24 Hour Tees store

308-237-2550 Erin Davis or Shannan Kramer

Prince of Peace Church

Mon & Thurs: 2pm–4 pm

2407 W 56th St 308-236-9171 Mike, Lavun, Bev and Adell

UNK Big Blue Cupboard

Mon-Fri 9-5

UNK Nebraska Student Union

Office of student diversity & inclusion

1013 W 27th Street

308-865-8127

 

 

Gibbon Little Free Pantry

Accessible 24 hrs/day

705 Court St.

 

308-468-5323  

Gibbon Faith United Church

Tues & Thur 6:30pm-8pm

Head start Basement

1021 First St

 

 

308-468-5521 Pastor Mike